

European Society for the History of Science www.eshs.org

Barcelona, Nov 20, 2010

The meeting of the board and of the scientific council of the European Society for the History of Science is held in the Puig i Cadafalch room of the Institut d'Estudis Catalans, Barcelona, on Nov 20th, 2010.

The meeting starts at 13:30.

The attendants are the president Helge Kragh, the president-elect Sona Strbanova, the vicepresident Eberhard Knobloch, the secretary Leonardo Gariboldi, the treasurer Erwin Neuenschwander, the PR officer Raffaele Pisano, the web-master Olivier Bruneau, and the following members of the scientific council: Suzanne Débarbat, Robert Fox, Hermann Hunger, Michal Kokowski, Ladislav Kvasz, Antoni Roca-Rosell.

The newsletter editor Simon Werrett, and the following members of the scientific council do not attend the meeting: Henrique Leitão, Eva Katalin Vamos.

The *Centaurus* editor Ida Stamhuis and the candidate to the president-elect position Fabio Bevilacqua are invited to join the meeting.

The secretary introduces the agenda of the general assembly to be held at 18:00. The agenda has been previously submitted to the board and the scientific council. Due to absence of the newsletter editor, the agenda is updated deleting the report from the newsletter editor. A point with other issues suggested by the members at the general assembly is added.

The secretary announces that one the candidates to the scientific council, Monika Gisler, is not a member so that she cannot be elected. Ladislav Kvasz is nominated for re-election as a member of the scientific council.

The final version of the general assembly agenda is attached to these minutes.

Ida Stamhuis describes the status of *Centaurus* and of the relationship with the publisher, Blackwell, in particular of a new contract. Robert Fox suggests that the current contract with Blackwell should be rewritten. The board and the scientific council decide that a small committee will be established to discuss the possible new contract. The incoming president, Sona Strbanova, and Robert Fox will be among the members of this committee.

Erwin Neuenschwander describes the status of the operations leading to the establishment of the Neuenschwander Prize. The prize, in honour of Erwin Neuenschwander's father, will be awarded via a Swiss foundation to a very distinguished person in the history of science as an award to a life-work. The prize will be awarded every two years, for a sum of about € 10,000

for each prize. The current amount of the funds is about \in 100,000 and will be increased of 50,000 CHF each year. The board and scientific council will have to work to write the statutes of the prize. The scientific council is expected to advance suggestions for nominations. A commission evaluating the proposals will be established according to the statutes. The president, the president-elect, the vice president, all the past presidents and Claude Débru will be members of the commission. The first prize is expected to be awarded in 2012. The recipient must give a plenary "Neuenschwander lecture" at the international conference of the ESHS.

Sona Strbanova suggests that Robert Fox and Eberhard Knobloch look for the statutes of similar prizes, such as the Sarton and Koyré medals, in order to prepare a first draft of the statutes to be sent to the president before March 2011. The final version of the statutes must be ready before the end of May 2011.

Sona Strbanova announces a future activity of the society: the in-between conference about "Universities in Central Europe" will be held on September 29-30, 2011 at the Charles University in Prague. Three topics are proposed. The proposal is attached to these minutes. Ladislav Kvasz is suggested to be added to the Programme Committee. The board and the scientific council appreciate the fact that the in-between conference organised by the current president has become a tradition in the society's life. The incoming board and scientific council are invited for a meeting in Prague the day after the end of the in-between conference. The conference will comprise a scientific tour of Prague. Sona Strbanova will send requests for the composition of the International Committee.

Helge Kragh announces a second in-between conference to be held in 2011 in Aarhus about teaching and science. The board and the scientific council appreciate that the in-between conferences are not limited in number.

Erwin Neuenschwander announces that Annette Vogt and Karin Reich checked the financial situation of the society. Michal Kokowski is invited to be the third scrutinator of the accounts. Annette Vogt, Karin Reich and Michal Kokowki are suggested to be nominated to be elected as scrutinators of the society accounts for the next two years.

Olivier Bruneau describes the current status of the web-site, in particular the possibility to add events and a Google map of the members' location.

The meeting ends at 14:45.



2010 ESHS General Assembly - Agenda

- 1) Report of the President
- 2) Report of the Secretary
- 3) Report of the Treasurer
- 4) Report of the PR Officer
- 5) Report of the Web-master
- 6) Report of Centaurus Editor
- 7) ESHS Consitution Changes
- 8) Elections of ESHS board and scientific council
- 9) Vote on the next ESHS conference
- 10) Report on the Neuenschwander Prize
- 11) Other items
- 12) Greetings and announcements from the new President

European Society for the History of Science Institute of History of Charles University and Archive of Charles University in Prague Centre for the History of Sciences and Humanities, Institute for Contemporary History Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic Czech Society for the History of Sciences and Technology Czech National Committee for History of Science National Technical Museum in Prague

Under the auspices of the Rector of the Charles University

UNIVERSITIES IN CENTRAL EUROPE CROSSROADS OF SCHOLARS FROM ALL OVER THE WORLD September 29-30th, 2011

Venue: Institute of History of Charles University and Archive of Charles University in Prague Address: Ovocny trh 5 116 36 Prague 1 Czech Republic

TOPICS:

- Mobility of Scholars between Universities since the Age of Enlightenment
- The 100th Anniversary of Einstein's stay in Prague
- Phenomenon "Visiting Professor"

National Organising Committee:

Sona Strbánová Petr Svobodny Marek Durcansky Antonín Kostlán Ivan Jakubec Petr Cajthaml Milada Sekyrková Ivana Lorencová Ladislav Kvasz

International Programme Committee:

Michal Kokowski Robert Fox Fabio Bevilacqua Ida Stamhuis