Gustav Neuenschwander prize: call for nominations 2024

Dear ESHS member,

This communication is to call for nominations for the 2024 Gustav Neuenschwander Prize.

This is the main prize of our Society and is awarded for outstanding life‐long achievements and major contributions to the discipline of the history of science. It was created by Professor Erwin Neuenschwander in 2011 in memory of his father Gustav Neuenschwander. You can find more information here: 

The prize, which currently amounts to 20,000 (twenty thousand) Euros, is presented biennially at the ESHS Conferences. It consists of a financial reward, a medal, and the invitation to deliver a plenary lecture at the Conference, which will be held in Barcelona on 4-7 September 2024 (

Its previous winners are:

  • Claude Debru (2012)
  • Jürgen Renn (2014)
  • Nancy Siraisi (2016)
  • Robert Fox (2018)
  • Kostas Gavroglu (2020)
  • Simon Schaffer (2022)

Any member of the ESHS is entitled to nominate a candidate, so we hope you’ll help the society to find the next award winner. You nomination should be sent to me ( and be accompanied by:

  • a detailed report on the candidate’s work
  • a short CV of the candidate
  • a list of the main publications relevant to the nomination

The first deadline for nominations is 15 January 2024.

Looking forward to receive your nomination!

The secretary, Roberto Lalli